Leaving Time by Jodi Picoult

leaving timeAfter reading and really enjoying one of Jodi Picoult’s other books last semester, I was super excited to pick up another. I had seen Leaving Time at a bunch of bookstores and it seemed to be popular. I thought to myself, “well here is my opportunity!” Jodi Picoult is a very well-known and popular author so I assumed I wouldn’t be disappointed. Turns out, I was wrong.

Jenna is a teenage girl in search of her missing mother. The last time Jenna ever saw her mother alive, she was three years old. Now, Jenna is thirteen and determined more than ever to find her mother. She enlists the help of Serenity, a psychic, and Virgil, a private detective, to make something of a ten-year old crime scene. Through lots of faith and determination, Jenna begins to answer her desperate questions. But will it be the answers she wants to hear?

So I have to be really honest. The first half of this book to me was a complete drag and seemed to go on forever. I was warned before I started that if I didn’t like elephants, I may have a hard time reading it. This is because Jenna’s mother use to be an elephant scientist of sorts so there is a lot of background into elephants. While some of the information is cute and interesting, I felt that it was overdone. We get it. Elephants mourn and they get really sad and make great mothers. But where is the mystery?! Cause that’s why I picked up the book. Once the second part of the novel rolled it got better but don’t expect too much. It isn’t until the last 100 pages or so the story really picks up. Yes, it is very touching. Yes, there is a huge plot twist. But I probably would have enjoyed it more if I wasn’t bored in the first 200+ pages. Overall, I rate this novel a 3 out of 5. Basically my way of saying, eh, it was okay. You won’t hate yourself for reading it but you might be able to find an equally touching/mysterious novel out there.

Better luck next time, Jodi.

Leave a Reply

