Wild by Cheryl Strayed

wildI grabbed this book off a shelf at Target after months of looking at it and debating it. I had heard a lot about the book and people seemed to rave about the movie. I was pretty stoked to read it for myself (before the movie, of course) and boy, did I make a good decision.

Wild is the true story of a woman named Cheryl Strayed whose life is falling apart. After the death of her mother, a failed marriage, several one night stands and a new flavor for drugs, Cheryl decides it’s time to reclaim her life. After seeing a guide-book for the Pacific Crest Trail at her local REI, Strayed makes the bold decision to hike a major section of it. Wild is not necessarily Strayed’s book of answers, but instead her tale of journeys that would one day lead her down a new path.

I was in awe of this story. This book made me want to pack up my bag and go on a journey of my own! Strayed’s story is impeccable and will show you the true strength of people who have determination. One thing I loved about this book is you don’t hear Strayed’s tales and stories and then listen to her recant what she learned from this. Instead, you see how people become a part of her journey. The ending, while quick, will make the entire book and her entire journey worth it. I give this book a 5 out of 5. I have never read a book that made me feel quite like this. Whether your looking for a novel that will give you a new perspective on life or perhaps you want to be inspired, this book will not fail you. Pick it up and you won’t regret it.

Leave a Reply

