The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty

secretI have seen this book on several “must read” lists in the past few months and decided to finally buy it. And I am sure glad I did! I couldn’t stop talking about it with my friends and family…now they just have to read it too.

In The Husband’s Secret, Cecelia Fitzpatrick comes across a strange envelope one day. It reads on the outside: “For Cecelia Fitzpatrick, my lovely wife, to be opened upon my death”. She knows immediately that it is written by her husband…who is alive and well. The contents of the letter will act as a wave, creating ripple effects upon various people in the community, and it will forever change Cecelia. This book is about the secrets we keep and the lies we live. They say secrets bring people closer, but they can also tear people apart.

This book was absolutely amazing. It was one of those books you can’t put down. I was clearing my schedule to make time for reading! One of the things I really like are the various perspectives the story is written in and how we see the role of secrets in peoples lives. She does a great job of creating parallel stories and keeping a time frame. Especially in the end, when things are very intense, the simultaneous stories helped build tension. Moriarty really keeps you captivated…even until the Epilogue. And man, did she go out with a bang. Incredible. I give this book a 5 out of 5. I would definitely recommend this one.

Leave a Reply

