The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

hawkinsThis book has been on several “must read” lists, but I was hesitant to read it at first. However, I recently came across a movie trailer for the book, and I was convinced. I’m very much a read-before-you-watch kind of person. I have mixed reviews about the book, but I am very excited to see the movie.

Rachel is spiralling. She is an alcoholic still mourning the loss of her husband and the life she once lived. Every morning she takes a train to work, which scoots by her old house – and the house of Jess, a woman she’s been watching on every commute. Jess and her husband have a seemingly perfect life, the kind Rachel dreamed of living. But one day, everything changes. Jess turns out to actually be a woman named Megan, and Megan is missing. Rachel thinks she has some answers, but she is also surrounded by speculation and confusion. Rachel’s journey will have you questioning everyone – including her.

I think this book will make a fantastic movie. I actually think that it would have worked out better that way in the first place. While the book was mostly captivating, Hawkins sometimes is too vague and too mysterious for my liking. One of my biggest pet peeves with mystery/thrillers is when characters begin to change so that we will suspect them. I also felt like the vagueness of things became really confusing at times. From the very beginning we get “he” and “she” pronouns with no name so that we question who it is. Which is great…but I don’t want to spend 200 pages guessing. Lastly, the book switches between characters AND time periods. Two of the characters are told in a similar time frame while the other starts a year back. This got really confusing, for me, at times. I had to remember what happened and when. This is why I think a film adaptation will be better – the time can represented smoother. Overall, I give this book a 3 out of 5. I want to give it more, because I did enjoy it, but there were several things that really hindered my ability to read it.

Leave a Reply

