The Giver by Lois Lowry

giver.jpgIf you enjoy dystopian or reading about fictional worlds, this one is for you! The Giver has been around for quite some time and is constantly listed as a must read. I decided to give it a try!

Jonas lives in a society where everything is pleasant, thought out and pain free. When children turn 12, they receive an assignment from their society. This is the job they will do for the rest of their life. Jonas is anxious for the ceremony, so you can imagine how nervous he felt when his name was skipped over. The truth is, Jonas has a special job. He will become the next Receiver, the keeper of memories and an honorable person in society. This job will introduce him to things no one else in the society has ever endured. Will he be able to handle it?

I really enjoyed this book! Its short and sweet. I think one thing that sets it apart from many other dystopians in the detail in which she explains the society. To me, that is one of the most fascinating parts of dystopian. My biggest disappointment was the ending. I was really hoping for more resolution, but instead I was left with SO many questions. I wanted to see it as sweet and fitting, but I really wish there was more. Overall, I give this book a 4 out of 5. Definitely something I would recommend.

Common Sense Media Rating: 11+ years

Leave a Reply

